Summer In Le Marche: Sweet Sunflowers

Why do I love sunflowers so much?

Sunflowers do not grow a lot in Vietnam, and I liked them even before I saw them in person. I like their bright cheerful yellow color. They evoke happiness, warmth, and endless energy. By chance, they are my birth sign flowers as I am a Leo. 

Lucky for me, they grow in my favorite country Italy where I spend my whole summer this year (and also in Bulgaria where I took a meaningful road trip with my dad 2 years ago).

Now I have another reason to love sunflowers. Sunflowers brought me to Le Marche, Italy’s best kept secret region (well, not a secret anymore if you are reading and also sharing this post. Don’t worry, the people of Marche would want more people to know about their region). 


As I saw a gorgeous picture of sunflowers on the instagram account of @discovermarche, I contacted them and asked for the exact location of the picture. Monia, the Marche expert and the blogger of Discover Marche, was so helpful to give me detailed information. She was also extremely hospitable as she hosted me when I finally visited the region.

I was totally satisfied as I saw so many sunflowers in both Umbria and Le Marche. 

Everything was perfect. The sunflowers were blooming at the right moment. The sun was shining. The people were smiling.

It turned out that the sunflower field was merely one of the many things that impressed me about Le Marche. I was so marveled to the point that I added it to my list of best-loved regions in Italy – Umbria is another favorite of mine.

Although I spent only about 24 hours in Le Marche, the region made me speechless. I will share with you the reasons why in my future posts.


Sunflower in Italian is girasole, meaning “turns towards the Sun”. Interestingly, its Italian name is similar to Vietnamese one: hướng dương, which also means “turns towards the Sun”. Its Vietnamese nickname is hoa mặt trời literally meaning “the flower of the Sun” but I prefer its official name hoa hướng dương. How do you say sunflower in your language?

I think sunflowers should be named smileflowers instead. Hope these photos will put a smile on your face. 🙂 

DSC09639DSC09640DSC09642DSC09648DSC09649DSC09715DSC09716DSC09722DSC09758DSC09790

26 thoughts on “Summer In Le Marche: Sweet Sunflowers

  1. Beautiful!!!! I am so glad you got to visit and am happy that Monia was able to help she is a wonderful woman. I hope you get a chance to come back and enjoy it here, regrettably I had guests staying with me and have not been able to come online, I was touring. Enjoy Enjoy Enjoy yourself Italy is beautiful and be careful you might fall in love and move here lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your lovely comment! I would love to come back again! Thanks to Monia, I gained more insights than an average tourist. What a wonderful region! You must be very happy living there. 🙂 I wish I could stay here but I do not know how yet. 😛 The easiest way is to study but my study is going to end soon sadly.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohh, it’s great to see you so happy hopping around Italy, visiting exactly what catches your eye, similar to how I do it. Just whatever you do, don’t look at my most recent post. Where I am, sunflowers are finished for this season. (But I had a happy sunflower post about a month ago.)

    In my language, Slovenian, one is called “sončnica” (pronounced something like “sonch-nitza”), plural is “sončnice”. We also have dual case, denoting two items, and it is “sončnici”. It can be translated something like “sunny one”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, thank you for sharing! I really love languages and would love to learn more about the Slovenian language one day! The Slovenian word for sunflowers sounds so happy!

      P.S. I will check your post anyway ^_^ Now I feel really lucky that I came to the right place at the right time! It was during the only break I got from my internship. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow beautiful photos! I love sunflowers too. In fact I love all kinds of flowers 😀 I saw beautiful sunflower fields during my last summer’s motorbike trip in southeastern Europe. I must have at least a few photos 🙂 Happy memories 🙂 Didn’t know about birth sign flowers, it is something in Vietnamese culture? I got orchids! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment, Pooja!! Me too, we are flower lovers haha! Did you write a blog about the motorbike trip?

      The birth sign flowers are based on our horoscope signs originated from the Pre-Greek culture. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Very pretty Vy! We used to have a single 🌻 in our backyard. Almost 1-1.2m tall… it didn’t survive my dad’s gardening skills unfortunately. Keep on chasing your flowers Vy. Hope to see rose gardens perhaps? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jolene! I hope you are having a great time in Europe! Which country are you visiting now? Aw one is better than nothing. I used to wish we had at least one sunflower in our garden.

      And yes, I visited Rome’s rose gardens last month. Will definitely write about it sometime soon. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

