Béziers: The Town Of Intricate Balconies

Have you ever heard of Béziers, a town in the South of France? What is it famous for? Why did I visit it? For my trip to Southern France last December, I chose lesser-known cities such as Aix-en-Provence, Arles, and Béziers over the famous ones including Nice and Cannes. I love getting off the beaten track.


I come to Béziers without knowing much about the town. Christmas Day is a good day to walk along the streets of Béziers because it is completely quiet. While walking under the warm sunshine, I notice something quite spectacular that I have not seen in any other places. The balconies. The steel work. The colors. Sophisticated. Intricate. Diverse.

I cannot find any balconies that are the same. They are all different within a short walk. Fascinated by this new discovery, I try to capture as many balconies as I can. It is like playing detective work and the target is the beauty of the balconies.

The organic patterns of the balconies remind me of the late-19th-century architectural style of Art Nouveau. Anyone knows more about the history of the architecture of Béziers?

25 December 2016

Vy


 

 

Click here to explore other off-the-beaten-track places with me.

16 thoughts on “Béziers: The Town Of Intricate Balconies

  1. Great Article! I think it’s smart to avoid the traditionally popular destinations when travelling. Some are popular for good reason and are very much worth visiting, but I find that cities like Nice and Monaco tend to hide their blemishes. I’ve always appreciated Marseille, Arles, Avignon etc for this reason because they try less to be a paradise and instead exist as they are. Visiting Marseille after its eastern neighbours on the cote d’azur always feels like I’ve returned to reality.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment! You are absolutely right about reality versus paradise! That’s exactly how I felt. I love seeing real local life and discovering overlooked things in underrated places. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful balconies! This reminds me of my grandma’s house. The balconies are intricate, so does the staircase. But cleaning might be a bit problematic 😛 Chúc mừng năm mới! I wish you a great new year with lots of health, luck, and success 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Vy! Happy new year! I do adore those balconies, they seem to have their own stories to tell, of families behind those glass doors, and laughter, and perhaps some tears too…
    Hope you didn’t get any chronic neck ache from all that balcony gazing! 😜

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

