Autumnal Sensibility in Trastevere

Do you agree that Trastevere is the most enchantingly Italian neighborhood in Rome? Every time I find myself in the neighborhood, I cannot resist taking one or two pictures. I wish I could capture every single thing to share with my friends and family.

Ivy-covered walls, colorful buildings, cobblestone streets, hidden windows, stylish street lamps, and so many more beautiful things to admire. Although Trastevere is not the quietest area in Rome as it is full of restaurants and shops, each time I gaze up, I find a moment of tranquility. The blue sky is artistically framed between the roofs of Trastevere houses, like a painting decorated with a vintage lamp or an ivy wall.

Trastevere is like a young artist, who randomly paints his bright orange Vespa into a romantic setting to bring some vitality to the old street. The orange color matches the style and mood of Trastevere as if the Vespa has been custom-made for this place. Walking in Trastevere, you will find quite a few artistic scenes like that.

Once tired or hungry, have a rest at the local restaurant Dar Poeta and enjoy traditional pizzas served straight from a wood-fired oven. The toppings smoked salmon and zucchini flowers are particularly good. On a sunny day, sit outside and eat as if you are in the movie “Eat, Pray and Love.”

Location: Vicolo del Bologna, 45, 00153 Roma

December 2016

Vy


 

Have you noticed a little sign of Christmas in one of my photos?

Do you also love autumn? Why don’t you explore Villa Sciarra for some heavenly autumn sceneries?

35 thoughts on “Autumnal Sensibility in Trastevere

    1. Thank you, Pooja! I am living in Rome, and these photos were taken within the last few weeks. You have been to Rome before right? Definitely visit Trastevere if you come to Rome another time! 😊

      Like

  1. Hey Vy, I’m not sure if it’s just me, but none of the photos in the post load up for me? I did fall in love with your feature photo though, and am absolutely jealous of the autumnal vibes!! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is my first time in Rome so I don’t know if it is global warming or typical weather in Italy. Now it is only cold during mornings and evenings because during the day it is mostly sunny. I must admit I did not fall in love with Rome until October when it got cooler. I agree Rome in August was not that great! >_<

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Summer is NOT the right time to visit Rome, even the Romans flee the city, lol. In terms of weather, prices and crowds the best period for visiting is the second half of October+early part of November (in December prices start to slightly rise again because of Christmas).

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

