A Sunday In The Vatican City And The Best Pizza in Rome (Part 1)

The start of my Sunday is not great but the end of it cannot be better!

7.42am in Rome – A strong earthquake wakes me up. My bed is shaking. The disturbing sound of the hangers in the wardrobe. The chandelier directly above me is swinging… fast. This is the fourth earthquake in the last three months I have lived in Rome. I have never experienced that many tremors in my life. Should I be used to it by now? No, it is fearful.

This time the epicentre is in Norcia, a city in Umbria, my favourite region. Immediately I think of my friend who has relatives in Norcia. Fortunately, my friend confirms that no one is terribly hurt but many buildings collapse. Among the buildings is the Basilica of San Benedetto. I am sad.

An earthquake is not like an erupting volcano, yet the damages they cause can be equally devastating. If I stay home, I will keep thinking about the earthquake and also the volcano I visited yesterday.

The sun is shining. The sky is blue. Life is beautiful. And the Vatican City comes to my mind.

I make a mistake of taking the bus 23, which is completely packed. The traffic is terrible (as always). As if it cannot be worse, the main road to the Vatican City is closed, and the bus turns left instead of going straight.

Whatever. I believe that my day will be good. As I walk toward the St. Peter’s Basillica, I hear drum beat and see a crowd lining up. Normally I avoid crowds but this time I feel like I should not miss this. Ok, let me see what is going on. And wow, intricate costumes, colourful flags, flag performances, a sense of history and… happy spectators from all walks of life and nationalities. I start to feel a lot better.

Why have I chosen the Vatican City to brighten up my day? Every Sunday the Pope gives his blessing from his window’s apartment. Every last Sunday of the month, the Vatican Museums are free for everyone from 9am to 12.30pm. Then on this particular Sunday there is a parade called palio featuring historical costumes and representing different states of Roma. Of course I visit the Vatican City because… it is on the way to one of the best pizza places in Rome!

Well, watching the Pope on the Internet is kind of enough for me as I am not fond of being in a crowd. The same for the Vatican Museums, I’d rather see images on Google than being distracted by… a huge number of visitors. I just want to see the legendary queue in front of the museums. This… is more exciting for me than being in the queue for a free visit. Finally, I had no idea there would be a parade today.

Meanwhile, I have heard a lot about this pizza place near the Vatican City…

Part two is coming soon…

Sunday, 30 October 2016

Vy


I am uploading a video on Youtube, click here if you want to watch the parade.

20161030_11075320161030_11075920161030_11085920161030_11103120161030_11123420161030_11153520161030_11295820161030_113403

15 thoughts on “A Sunday In The Vatican City And The Best Pizza in Rome (Part 1)

  1. Hello Vy,
    I found your blog is really refreshing and inspiring. You have a great writing skill and the photos are amazing. So I would like to nominate you for the Sunshine Blogger Award. I know you have been nominated already, but another nomination will surely bring you no harm πŸ™‚
    Well, if you wish to take the challenge, please refer to this post for the rules: https://lenjourneys.com/sunshine-blogger-award/
    I wish you a wonderful weekend! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely post and your blog is gorgeous – love the layout and everything. I’m devastated about the earthquakes in Italy, not only for the people but also for the heritage that is being destroyed. I love Unbria. The other half of my family (husband’s side) is Italian and they’re in northern Italy – not affected but if you have links with Italy, you feel it strongly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much for your comment! I totally feel you because I was in Umbria just over a week before the earthquake. The earthquakes were indeed very devastating, and unlike Japan, Italy was not ready for them. There was even a tornado yesterday! 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

