10 Things Vy Learnt While Visiting Umbria

Do you know if there is an underground medieval city in Perugia? Do you know which kind of olives olive oil is made from? Do you know what Umbria speciality is? I did not know until I came to Umbria.

I have recently come back from a wonderful retreat in Perugia, a major city in Umbria (Umbria is a province in central Italy, and it is next to Tuscana). While I was in Umbria, I also visited Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi and Lago Trasimeno. Thanks to my new local friends, I learnt a lot more about the region and Italy in general. Not only did I fall in love with the stunning sights of Perugia, but I was also very fascinated with every little thing I found out there.

dsc04984
Perugia in an October morning | © Vylyst

1. Umbria is the ‘Green Heart’ of Italy

Umbria has the most about of trees in Italy. While in Perugia, I did feel the air was very fresh, much fresher than Roma. Also, Perugia in autumn is incredibly beautiful with a mix of green, yellow and orange leaves.

dsc04917
Autumn in Perugia | © Vylyst
2. There is an underground city in Perugia

The underground medieval city is beneath the Rocca Paolina, a 16th-century fortress built by Pope Paul Farnese III. Instead of destroying everything, the Pope left some medieval streets whole and built the fortress above them. Walking down the underground city felt like walking in an abandoned city during the night.

dsc05006
The medieval underground city of Perugia | © Vylyst
3. The Church of San Pietro has a painting with the devil face

Decorated with paintings by Perugino, Raphael and Caravaggio, the church or abbey of San Pietro is one of the most ostentatious churches in Perugia. Above the doorway is a large painting hiding two eyes and one nose. It is said that the doorway itself is the mouth of the devil.

dsc05114
The Church of San Pietro in Perugia | © Vylyst
4. Bees are chocoholics

As a chocoholic myself, I could not miss Eurochocolate, an annual chocolate (plus truffles) festival in Perugia. There were a few truffle stalls in addition to the main stalls of artisanal chocolate and famous chocolate brands such as Perugina.

dsc04993
Eurochocolate at Piazza IV Novembre | © Vylyst

The better the chocolate, the more bees hanging out on it. To be honest, I was even more attracted to the number of bees in the festival than the chocolate itself. Don’t get me wrong, the chocolate was great and definitely worth trying. I was just loving the bees so much. The bees probably also came because there were lots of chocolate with fruit like kiwis, citrus and bananas.

dsc05108
The special guests of Eurochocolate in Perugia | © Vylyst
5. The olives which are made into oil are not the same as the ones we eat.

Rather, they are tiny.

dsc05133
An olive tree in the garden of the University of Perugia | © Vylyst
6. Olive woods can be made into many things

In Assisi, I saw a store selling goods made from olive woods. The price of the goods are quite reasonable. Artists in Assisi also use olive woods as a material.

dsc05071
Goods made from olive woods | © Vylyst
7. If you love talking to artists, come to Assisi

Assisi reminds me a little bit of Windermere in the Lake District in England because of the frequency of art galleries. Many local artists such as Sabrina Lauri open stores in Assisi. They are very friendly and enjoy talking to visitors about their works.

dsc05076
Sabrina Lauri, an artist in Assisi | © Vylyst
8. The Basilica of San Francesco d’Assisi is one of a kind

Why? Because there is a church on top of another, creating a T shape. Also, inside the lower church is the tomb of St. Francis so it is one of the most scared places in Umbria.

A part of the vault of the upper church was destroyed by an earthquake in 1997 but it has been restored by now.

dsc05064
The Basilica of San Francesco at sunset | © Vylyst
9. The Tau Cross represents Saint Francis of Assisi

Tau is a Greek letter and is a form of the cross symbol.

dsc05072
The Tau Cross as souvenirs | © Vylyst
10. The regional speciality is torta al testo

It looks a bit like a triangle sandwich but the bread is not normal bread, and the fillings are very special. The bread is a little bit like a pizza crust but with no yeast so the outside is crunchy and the inside is soft but not chewy. The traditional fillings are spinach and sausages. Cooked on fire, the sausages have a distinctive smoky flavour, even better than BBQ food.

20161017_203231
Two kinds of torta al testo | © Vylyst

My friends took me to a local favourite, Osteria Faliero la Maria in Magione near lake Trasimeno. The restaurant was crowded, and there was a long queue of locals waiting to order.

dsc05150
La torta d’la Maria è la più bena che ci sia means that the bread here at la Maria is the best | © Vylyst

Address: loc. Montebuono | loc. Montebuono06063, Magione, Italy.

Bonus

My friends told me that lake Trasimeno is an ideal place to watch the sunset. Unfortunately, when I came there, the sunset was not very spectacular. Still, I enjoy the tranquillity of the lake and this blue twilight:

dsc05146
Twilight at lake Trasimeno | © Vylyst

Needless to say, I cannot wait to come back to this beautiful region next year to attend the Jazz Festival in Perugia, watch the sunset from Lago Trasimeno, take pictures with sunflowers in Assisi, and hunt for truffles in Norcia.

dsc05056
Beautiful Umbria, a view from Assisi | © Vylyst
13 thoughts on “10 Things Vy Learnt While Visiting Umbria

    1. I did not know that the Knox tragedy happened in Perugia. Hope when you visit Perugia, you will think of the lovely facts rather than the tragedy. I am sure the city will leave you good impressions. 🙂

      Like

  1. I was in Umbria this summer. My son and his beautiful bride were married in the hills of Assisi in July. I’m planning on writing about it in the next few days. I’m sure that I saw some of the things that you featured but our trip there only lasted three days and most of it was spent at the wedding.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very interesting post! Using bees to test chocolate is really something new for me, but I wonder how the bees can identify which chocolate is good and which one is not. Maybe on sweetness? And the picture of the Assisi Church looks marvelous 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

