Vy’s ‘boring’ breakfast

Guess what! I eat oatmeal almost every single day. Of course, oatmeal is boring. Why? It is simply rolled oats cooked in milk, or even worse, water. That’s it! It is even not sweet at all! Quite bland really.

Still, oatmeal is… perfect for breakfast because it can be made ‘fast’ and more importantly, it makes me feel healthy even if I imagine it! On top of this, it can warm you up during cold winter mornings.

I have a way to make it less boring or even… I dare say, delightful! I never put the same things into my oatmeal more than three times a week.

The basic recipe is: Rolled oats + liquid + nuts + seeds + fresh fruit + dried fruit and I always use walnuts because I love them. I never add sugar because the fruit is sweet enough.

The 1st version:

20150302_092626
Oatmeal 1 | © Vylyst
  • Rolled oats
  • Milk
  • Orange
  • Blueberries
  • Walnuts
  • Chia seeds

The 2nd version:

20151106_085445.jpg
Oatmeal 2 | © Vylyst
  • Rolled oats
  • Almond milk
  • Pomegranate seeds
  • Walnuts
  • Flaxseed
  • Dried prunes

The 3rd version:

20160128_080453
Oatmeal 3 | © Vylyst
  • Rolled oats
  • Coconut milk
  • Strawberries
  • Walnuts
  • Dried cranberries
  • Desiccated coconut

The 4th version:

20160223_075408
Oatmeal 4 |© Vylyst
  • Rolled oats
  • Milk
  • Banana
  • Blueberries
  • Walnuts
  • Sesame seeds
  • Cinnamon

My way of preparing oatmeal and walnuts overnight (It is optional but I feel surprisingly relaxed doing this before going to bed so I just do it):

  • Soak about three tablespoons of rolled oats in any type of milk. Add a pinch of sea salt, a few drops of lemon juice and cover.
  • Soak some walnuts in salted water and also add a few drops of lemon juice.
  • Leave them overnight so they can be activated (I read somewhere on the internet that it is better to activate grains, nuts and seeds before eating).
  • The next morning, cook the oats in the microwave and drain the walnuts. Leave the oatmeal to cool for about 5-10 mins.

That’s how you turn a ‘boring’ breakfast into a winning one!

When did I start to like oatmeal?

20140808_085948
The oatmeal I had in NYC | © Vylyst

The very first breakfast I had in New York City during my study exchange in Fall 2014 was oatmeal with strawberries. Was it so tasty that I liked it or was it such a memorable meal?

I think because the oatmeal was to my taste. It was so creamy and mildly sweet. Still, having a ‘fast’ breakfast in the centre of New York did feel kind of… American! My first impression of the USA was that its pace of life was really fast. It just felt right to eat something fast for breakfast.

What if I am tired of oatmeal but have too much oat?

I make oatmeal raisin cookies! The recipe can be found here.

Vy’s hints: For extra tastiness, add desiccated coconut to the cookie dough and for an artistic makeover, drizzle melted dark chocolate on top.

20151210_123318
My homemade oatmeal cookies | © Vylyst

Leave a Reply

