Top 21 Places Vy Has Always Wanted To Visit

Update: As of November 2016, I have been to 7 out of 21 place in this list.

“The more I travel, the more I want to travel more.” – said Vy.

Probably someone else has already said that but never mind because it is TRUE. While my travel list should be shorter because I have been travelling, every time I am in a new place, I come up with more places I want to visit next. I want to keep my journey never-ending. For me, travelling is to fully live this life because there are many things you can learn, many wonderful people you can meet and… so much amazing food you can try! I guess adding the last bit can prove the wonder of travelling more effectively. Believe me, you can always watch a travel documentary, but you cannot touch, you cannot smell and you cannot… absorb and… connect!

What’s even better is that travelling can keep you healthy because you need to be really fit to travel far. You will be health-conscious and learn how to take care of yourself much better than staying home and letting your parents treat you like babies.

Somehow, I have found some of my hidden selves during my adventures, and I will keep looking for the rest. It is a really magical feeling when you can discover yourself. I wish I could share this feeling with you but the only way I can do it is to ask you to start your own adventure.

The first time I took a train from Chichester to London on my own, I was 17 and I had been in England for only 2 weeks. I sat opposite a woman with brown curly hair and dark round eyes. She was on her way to Heathrow airport. I asked her where I should get off because I needed to change to another train to get to London and we started talking. I was really nervous and I told her that I was scared. She calmed me down and started talking about her life story and the reason she left England for Africa. That day, I shared my real feeling to a stranger and a stranger shared her life story with me. Since then, I always think that life is all about sharing.


In a random order, here are my top 21 places to visit that I would like to share with you:

1. The Cathedral of Santa Maria Del Fiore, Florence

The largest dome in the world commissioned to surpass both past and present’s architecture. It was built using secret techniques. Also, Florence was Renaissance’s birthplace.

2. Mount Fuji, Japan

Its beauty has inspired many artists.

3. Taj Mahal, India

A magnificent symbol of love.

4. Hawaii, America

 

5. Tahiti, French Polynesia

Tahiti was Gauguin’s definition of heaven. Even though he is not my very favourite painter, he was a great inspiration and probably the most important person in Van Gogh’s life.

6. Neuschwanstein Castle, Germany

11334141_10204284868943200_4368574083384000359_o
A view of Neuschwanstein Castle from a bridge | © Vylyst

The castle inspired Sleeping Beauty’s castle in Disneyland.

Update: In June 2015, I went to Neuschwanstein Castle with a German friend from Munich. Despite the influx of tourists, I deeply enjoyed the surreal sight of the castle. I felt like I was in a fairy tale.

7. Cotswolds, England

DSC03824
The famous cottages in Bibury | © Vylyst

The most English place you could ever imagine.

Update: In March 2016, I went to Bibury, one of the most beautiful villages in England. It was not easy to get there from Oxford (where I lived at the time) by public transportation so I detailed how I got there in this post.

 8. Moraine Lake, Canada

My best friend went there this summer, and I saw her photos on Facebook. The lake looks like paradise. I do love lakes. I was indeed born in Hanoi, the city of lakes.

9. Hà Giang, Viet Nam

It probably has the most breathtaking views in the north of Vietnam. Also, one of the poorest areas in the whole country.

10. The State Hermitage Museum, Russia

I am a museum addict. I can’t miss this impressive museum.

11. Keukenhof, The Netherlands

10983169_10203902019292198_3634211994730430337_o
Tulips in Keukenhof were incredibly vibrant | © Vylyst
This is the most famous tulip garden in the world. Ever since I was a child, my house has always been decorated with a vase of about 15 fabric red and yellow tulips. I have always thought, ‘How beautiful they make my house look.’ Imagine this beauty is multiplied thousand times.

Update: In April 2015, I went to Keukenhof. It was truly a wonderful experience. I thought the Netherlandish had a very good taste in aesthetic. Read this post to find out why.

12. Rome, Italy

14257602_10206785401894961_1943854520167381596_o
A panoramic view of Rome from Gianicolo | © Vylyst
Have you seen these films: To Rome with Love, The Great Beauty, Eat Pray Love, Roman Holiday, The Talented Mr. Ripley and When in Rome? I know what you are thinking. Yes, I am such a victim of the cinema.
Update: I have lived in Rome since August 2016. I have tried quite a few pizza places, and this one is my favourite.

13. Istanbul, Turkey

Where East meets West.

14. Machu Picchu, Peru

This is a spiritual and mysterious place.  I am absolutely fascinated by its mystery and ancient architecture.

15. Cape Town, South Africa

A talented miniaturist based in Cape Town had an amazing idea of painting one tiny picture per day for 365 days. The painting on my birthday was a sunset on the beach painted with my favourite colours: purple, orange and pink. I love it so much! It’s inviting me to visit Cape Town. Check out her project here. Let me know if you find something inspirational from her painting made on your birthday.

16. Salzburg, Austria

20150630_142955
Salzburg | © Vylyst

The Sound of Music was set here.

Update: In June 2015, I did a day trip to Salzburg from Munich. 

17. The Lake District, England

13415529_10206221419595756_8622424930124385571_o
The Lake District | © Vylyst

More lakes for a lake lover.

Update: In June 2016, I spent 4 days in the Lake District and was absolutely in love with this place. Fortunately, although it is the rainiest region in the UK, my four days there were full of sunshine.

18. Iceland

I wish I could see Northern Lights once in my life so that I could believe in magic. To me, they are too magical to be true.

 19. Kyoto, Japan

I have a lovely friend from Kyoto, and she told me there was a very beautiful bamboo forest there. Also, it is the Japan that I want to see, not like Tokyo.

20. Oia, Greece

Imagine how my colourful dresses will stand out from this white and blue setting. I am thinking about the art aspect of it, not the fashion one.

21. Varna, Bulgaria

82f17-20150724_1135171
Enter a caption | © Vylyst
My dad studied there about 40 years ago. I have heard many of his stories so I want to step back in time to live his youth for once. So I could say to him: “Dad, I have touched the sea-water of the beach you were talking about.” Every time I visit a beach, he always says: “My Varna has a better beach.”
Update: In July 2015, I visited Varna with my dad. This time he told me stories of his student life right where he spent it. Awed by the beach of Varna, I gave credit to what my dad said. During our time in Bulgaria, we met great people including a super famous celebrity. Read my post here to find out who that was.

P.S: – I’m sure my list will go on forever but these are places I feel like going most now.
– This post is to inspire myself for when I’m lost.
– I have a song for you – ‘California’ by Mindy Gledhill, introduced to me by one of my nieces. This song captures my thoughts in such simple lyrics and beautiful acoustic music.

8 thoughts on “Top 21 Places Vy Has Always Wanted To Visit

  1. Hi Vy, such a comprehensive bucket it and how it coincides with my own! I’m very happy you stumbled upon my blog (which allowed me to gain an insight into yours). I will be doing my second tour of Europe in summer next year and you have inspired me to include some of the places on my must-visit list (like the castle in Germany which I will not attempt to spell, the tulip garden, Salzburg etc). May I suggest that you also include Sydney Australia and the South Island of New Zealand on a future list of yours? You will not be disappointed ☺️😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jolene, your blog is inspring with insightful content and beautiful pictures so I will definitely keep coming back to explore more. I will certainly add Australia and New Zealand to my bucket list. Cannot miss this wonderful continent since I am a nature lover. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

